Ebbe Stub Wittrup

Trust, 2015. Overgaden Institute of Contemporary Art, Copenhagen, Denmark.
Curated by Sonia Dermience

Press release

Copenhagen’s five art centres proudly present the grand opening of the joint exhibition TRUST – a sparkling programme of events and opening speeches with a wealth of performances at the exhibition’s many venues.

Den Frie Udstillingsbygning, Kunstforeningen GL STRAND, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Nikolaj Kunsthal, and Overgaden – Institut for Samtidskunst is now opening the major joint exhibition TRUST. Operating on a large scale, the exhibition manifests itself as a unique art event crossing borders and boundaries with an ambitious range of national and international contemporary art. With 41 participating artists, TRUST will ll the city of Copenhagen with investigative registrations, poetic statements and performative experiments at the ve art venues and in public space.

The heading for the exhibition is trust – trust in one another and trust in art’s way of making us see the well known in a new perspective. Through a multitude of aesthetic idioms, the aim of the exhibition is to create renewed interest in art as an important space for re ection and as way of sensing and making sense of the world. As a result TRUST is formulated around the city and its scenography of well-known institutions – for instance, the shop, the church, the castle, the pizzeria –just as everyday life and everyday objects form a consistent strand running through the exhibition.

The exhibition is curated by Belgian Sonia Dermience and one of her strategies is an elaboration on the different identities of Copenhagen’s ve main art venues. Each of the ve institutions has been assigned a name that functions as a subtitle for the individual exhibition and refers to the institution’s special history and identity. TRUST can also be experienced at Nørgaard Paa Strøget, Roma’s Pizza & Burger House, The Lake Radio and Vester Vov Vov.

List of Artists:

A Kassen (DK), Martin Erik Andersen (DK), Félicia Atkinson (FR), Jakup Auce (BE), Elena Bajo (ES), Jessica Baxter (BE), Nina Beier (DK), Maiken Bent (DK), Nanna Debois Buhl DK), Ellen Cantor (US), Mikkel Carl (DK), Cel Crabeels (BE), Vava Dudu (FR), Sophie Dupont (DK), FOS (DK), Ditte Gantriis (DK), Good Times & Nocturnal News (SE/LT), Jos de Gruyter & Harald Thys (BE), So e Haesaerts (BE), Joachim Hamou (SE/FR), Maj Hasager (DK), Ilja Karilampi (SE), Seyran Kirmizitoprak (BE), Steinar Haga Kristensen (NO), Emmanuelle Lainé (FR), Adriana Lara (MX), Jacopo Miliani (IT), Cécile Noguès (FR), Of cin (DK), Carl Palm (SE), Douglas Park (UK), Angelo Plessas (GR), Laure Prouvost (UK/FR), Torben Ribe (DK), Zin Taylor (CA/ BE), The After Lucy Experiment (BE), Benjamin Valenza (FR/CH), Loïc Vanderstichelen & Jean-Paul Jacquet (BE), We Are The Painters (FR), Pernille Kapper Williams (DK), Ebbe Stub Wittrup (DK), Atalay Yavuz (TU).